My First Product Management Experience - Side Hustle Bootcamp

A Product Requirement Document (PRD) for a Food Ordering App - FoodFix

It was a stormy night, and Rachel had just returned home from a long day at work. She was starving but didn't have the energy to cook. She opened her favorite food delivery app with a simple tap on her phone and scrolled through the options. As she perused the menus, something caught her eye - a new Indian restaurant had just been added to the app. She had never tried Indian food before, but the pictures looked delicious, and the reviews were glowing. Without hesitation, Rachel placed her order and settled in for a cozy evening at home. Soon enough, her doorbell rang, and she rushed to answer it. There stood a friendly delivery person, drenched from the rain, but with a wide smile on his face. Rachel eagerly took her food and rushed back inside. As she opened the containers, the aromas of exotic spices filled the air, and her mouth began to water. The first bite was a revelation - the bold flavors and textures danced on her tongue, and she knew she had found a new favorite cuisine. From that night on, Rachel made a habit of exploring different restaurants through the food delivery app. She never looked back because it became her go-to for quick, convenient, and delicious meals. Thanks to the app, Rachel discovered a world of culinary delights and found joy in exploring new flavors and cuisines. Whether she's in the mood for sushi, pizza, or falafel, she knows that she can always count on the food delivery app to satisfy her cravings.

I imagined all these in my little world of fantasy as soon as we were assigned the task to develop a PRD for a food ordering/delivery app in Side Hustle Bootcamp 7.0.🥰😂

Welcome to my blog! Let me take you through the process of developing a PRD, sharing with you the experience of my first week in Side Hustle Bootcamp 7.0.

The Bootcamp started off with the creation of groups for the various tracks. I was added to the Product Management Team 8 made up of my humble self Prisca (Teamlead), peaceful Peace (Assistant Teamlead), Talktomeds, Ayobams, Tosin ClickUp and Tosin Lagos(in my own voice😁) I'd explain how these acronyms came up eventually,TeeLoy and PL. Nomination and poll was done to select the team and assistant team lead on Friday the previous week. The polling ended with I and Peace assigned to lead the team after all the plenty talk.

Monday morning, task dropped. We were required to develop a Product Requirement Document (PRD), this was to be done in collaboration with a Product design team.

Monday

My 1st week as the team lead of the Product Management team 8 at the SH cohort 7 Bootcamp started off with a lot of excitements for me. I was eager to learn and gain new experience since I'd have the opportunity to work with one of the cross functional teams.

Finding a Product design team to work with wasn't a struggle for me as I had already connected with the Teamlead for PD Team 6 the week before. There were more PM teams than the PD teams, so a PD team will have more than one PM team assigned to them. My team along with PM team 6 were assigned to the PD team 6. With the pairing done I and my teammates decided to create a chat group for a more effective communication on how to go about the task while collaborating with the PD team, once the group was created we were urged to go through the product school blog guide on how to write a PRD attached by Drey (Our Bootcamp Manager)to get further clarifications on what needed to be done.

The Monday experience ended with the team having a brainstorming session by 8pm and deciding on the contents of the PRD, selecting a PM tool to work with (Clickup) and the time for our daily Scrum (12 noon). I was also saddled with the responsibility of assigning tasks to the team.

Tuesday

This was another fresh day, things were falling in place. I had assigned Tosin ClickUp to create a Clickup account where we can manage our activities, hence the acronym attached to his name to different between him and the other Tosin who resides in Lagos. Tasks were assigned to the team on Clickup and each one of them got an email invite to work on the assigned task. Our first Scrum meeting was a success it was held at the agreed time and we had a 90% attendance. We all discussed about our progress so far based on the assigned task.

We also had our second brainstorming session by 8pm where we decided on the features for the food application which was passed across to the the PD Teamlead who gave his feedbacks on what we were able to come up with as features. I regularly dropped minutes for each meetings on the group for easy access, especially for those who were not in attendance.

Wednesday

Wednesday was an eye opener for the team. We were informed by drey that the PM teams assigned to a PD team were to work collaboratively to manage the Food application that is to be designed by the PD team. A meeting was scheduled with the other PM team and PD team for 6pm, the meeting time notice was impromptu. We had the joint meeting with the PD team 6 and PM team 6 in attendance. The joint meeting was an interesteing one, where we all shared our works. The collaboration caused a mild confrontation amongst PM's and PD's (It was a power tussle). I was battling with network from my own end and each time the network through me in, it was a combat. The initial peace and unity was becoming a thing of the past but thank God for some of the team mates that had to intervene. I was also able to make my own contributions and the whole back and forth was resolved. We all agreed to create a group chat for the team leads and assistants to manage the discussions and deliberate on a suitable name for the APP, as we had several name suggestions; to determine the particular feature to be featured on the APP, with guidance from the product design teams. We also decided to have another joint meeting, date to be decided before submission.

Thursday

Thursday started off very early for me, knowing there were several tasks that needed to be completed. Deciding the specific features for the App, was done between the two PM's team leads in agreement with the PM Team lead. It wasn't an easy one for me. I needed for us to come up with the necessary features and name so my team could proceed with the PRD compilation.

The other PM team Thassan gave me quite a tough time, I had to go back and forth explaining why a feature should be selected and what function it would perform. But like the sweet girl I am🥰, I was patient enough to explain and in no time we had our features and product name ready.

I thought with the features and name sorted the whole ride would run smoothly but that was when my own teammates started showing me SHEGE😂. First off Tosin ClickUp who was supposed to compile the PRD travelled without his laptop. He then assigned the task to Talktomeds. We were pressed for time, submission deadline was due for the next day. That's when Talktomeds decided to serve me his own version of SHEGE hot hot. I got a message from him by 8pm that almost left me raining down fire and brimstone on him😡😄. According to him he had a lot on his mind and couldn't compile the PRD. So i had to run it myself as teamlead. it wasn't easy for me working with my phone but then I had to come up with something for the team before the following day. Amidst all that was happening I also had some inconsistency with some other teammates. Tosin Lagos was off and on, Ayobams came through but was not stable and I also had a teammate who was not active because she was admited in the hospital.

Friday Submission day

With help from Teeloy who managed our Clickup and assisted with the PRD and my Assistant Peace who designed our user persona and helped with the format for the Twitter post, we were ready for submission.

This first week have been eventful for me. Asides learning how to work collaboratively, I've also developed a tough skin to handle any further SHEGE 😂that the subsequent week might bring my way. It's been a bitter-sweet experience but I can't wait for more adventures. I sign out for now, till next week.

Here's a link to the PRD

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1vYDQjSNqBqLzZj37CJfyYw4YATOlSkPi?usp=share_link